Girl Scouts 100th Anniversary Interfaith Service

The Most Reverend Katharine Jefferts Schori and Bishop Onell Soto

The Girl Scouts 100th Anniversary Interfaith Service was held at the Washington National Cathedral as a celebration of the rich faith traditions Girl Scout sisters share from various faith communities. We honored Girl Scouts who earned the new My Faith, My Promise religious recognition.  Learn more about the Interfaith Service here.

The Most Rev. Katharine Jefferts Schori, Presiding Bishop and Primate, The Episcopal Church, spoke at the event. Here’s an excerpt from her speech:

A hundred years! Happy birthday, Girl Scouts! I became a Girl Scout more than 50 years ago, and what I remember of those early years has made a big difference in my life, as I hope it has for you. Learning to identify birds, or how to plant trees, tie knots, or build a fire, are important skills that teach us about the world around us. So are the things we learn in Scout troop or by going to camp. We meet girls from different cultures and backgrounds, we try different foods, and we learn to live together in community. I still remember the strange and wonderful peanut butter and honey sandwiches I ate at Girl Scout camp at age 7, and crying when I had to go home at the end of the week!

The skills of living together in community are the most important thing we learn – those gifts of character like dignity and respect, and helping others. A flight attendant on the plane yesterday asked me what I was working on, and when I told her, she said, “I was a Girl Scout, and so is my daughter.” You can meet them everywhere! Having courage and a sense of responsibility to help people do make the world a better place. Those gifts of character make life worth living.

Click to read her full speech > |Download the program (PDF)  | Watch the full service webcast online >