Congressional Aide: Tyriana’s Experience

“Every day I proudly wore my Girl Scout vest. To my surprise adults and children would ask questions or engage me in conversation. I know I was able to meet so many people who probably would have kept walking if it was not for my Girl Scout vest,”~Girl Scout Tyriana E.

Image

Guest Blogger: Tyriana E. with Congressman Peter King (NY)

 

My week as a Congressional Aide was an amazing experience. I had the privilege of interning in Congressman Peter Kings office of New York. All of the staff and interns were so welcoming and helpful. The five days I spent on Capitol Hill were filled with many activities. My first two days I attended hearings and briefings on a wide array of subjects. I also had the opportunity to attend intern training for Capitol Tours. I learned so much about the history of the Capitol and all that went into building it.

The next two days were really busy. I attended more hearings and briefings. My favorite part was meeting Congressman King and watching him give a live television interview. After the interview the Congressman met with all of the interns and allowed us to ask different questions. I also had the opportunity to write a memo on an issue that was recently resolved in the Supreme Court.

I was able to go to the Smithsonian of Natural History with four other interns in my office and I had the opportunity to tour the Supreme Court and The Library of Congress. The Supreme Court had so many interesting artifacts and I enjoyed seeing Thomas Jefferson’s books in the Library of Congress.

On my way to the Supreme Court and The Library of Congress I met a Girl Scout troop from Colorado. They were so nice and excited about their trip to Washington D.C. Later in the day I had the pleasure of tagging along on a constituents tour. I even added a few history facts that I learned during my Capitol Tour training. I was able to take a picture with Congressman Peter King and talked individually with him. During my last hour on Capitol Hill I had the honor of seeing the House Chamber. I’ll never forget being on the house floor and looking around.

The hardest part of my week was walking. I had to walk to and from buildings to get to different events. Capitol Hill is not for people who enjoy sitting in an office all day! Another challenge was learning my way around all of the office buildings. However, by day three I was no longer getting lost trying to find my way back to the office.

Every day I proudly wore my Girl Scout vest. To my surprise adults and children would ask questions or engage me in conversation. I know I was able to meet so many people who probably would have kept walking if it was not for my Girl Scout vest. I believe this experience will open so many doors in my near future. I would like to thank GSCNC for having the Congressional Aide program. I am honored to have been selected during the 40th year anniversary. I also would like to thank Congressman Peter King, the staff and interns for making my week a wonderful experience.

The Congressional Aide Program is amazing.

Image

 

I will never forget my time on Capitol Hill and how much of an honor it was to represent Girl Scouts everywhere.

For more information on Girl Scouts Nation’s Capital Congressional Aide program visit our http://www.gscnc.org/congressional_aide.html.