Guest Blog: Congressional Aide Shares her Experience on the Hill

Girl Scout Simone R., left, spent a week shadowing the office of Congressman John Conyers, Jr.

IMG_1181

I was fortunate enough to have the privilege to be placed in Congressman John Conyers, Jr.’s office during my Congressional Aide week on the Hill. I got the chance to go behind the scenes and see how our nation is run. Mr. Conyers’ office was a fun, comfortable environment where our work always got done. It was fascinating seeing the political process in action.

In my role as a Congressional Aide, I was up for any task that I was given. Some of my projects included research for the Congressman and compiling and summarizing documents into a single file. Aside from working in my cubicle, I loved getting the chance to sit at the front desk and act as receptionist. This gave me the opportunity to interact with visitors and answer constituent phone calls. I was able to attend a briefing about adapting work schedules to fit the busy lives of everyday Americans. I also got the chance to sit in on a voting session on the Hill and watch from the gallery.

I’ll never forget the experience I gained or the relationships I formed from that week. It was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity I was blessed to have. Thank you Girl Scouts Nation’s Capital!

For more information on the Girl Scouts Nation’s Capital Congressional Aide program visit http://www.gscnc.org/congressional_aide.html.