Guest Blog: Caroline’s Experience on the Hill

As a Congressional Aide, Girl Scout Caroline V. spent a week shadowing the office of Congresswoman Barbara Lee. Caroline writes about her experience below.

10394839_821810101197443_1058448883668781482_n

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Over the summer, I had the chance to shadow the office of Congresswoman Barbara Lee.  Since Congress was in recess, I did not have the opportunity to meet Congresswoman Lee, but I still had a great week learning about what goes on in Congress and Congressional Offices. 

While I was in the Congresswoman’s office, I scanned press clips, organized constituent faxes, and answered phones. I also had the pleasure of taking a tour of the Capitol, visiting the House of Representatives, where the State of the Union takes place, walking through the tunnels that connect all of the buildings on Capitol Hill, and riding the Capitol subway system!

During my time in the Congressional Office, I gained a better understanding of how Congress works and its importance in our government.  In addition, I learned that Congress really does stand for the people and that constituent voices are heard.  The Congresswoman and her congressional staff work extremely hard to represent California’s 13th District. 

I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Congresswoman’s Barbara Lee’s office and working with her congressional staff.  Being a Congressional Aide allowed me to have a hands-on experience with our nation’s government.  The week I spent on Capitol Hill was the highlight of my summer.  Thank you Girl Scout Nation’s Capitol and the Congressional Office of Congresswoman Barbara Lee!