Guest Blog: Sophia M. Shares Pearls of Wisdom for Girls

Girl Scout Senior Sophia M. never thought she could deliver a speech in front of hundreds of people—that is, until she joined Girl Scouts. Throughout her Girl Scout journey, which began at the Encuentro de Chicas Latinas leadership conference in 2011, Sophia has transformed from a shy young girl to a confident leader who is now working toward her Silver Award. As a participant in Girls Inspired and Ready to Lead, Inc., a non-profit organization dedicated to preparing today’s girls for tomorrow, Sophia was invited to share a “pearl of wisdom.” Her story, published in Pearls of Wisdom For Girls by Girls, is featured below.

“Help your Community by making it a better place with good deeds”

For the past few years, I’ve been able to do different community service projects with my Girl Scout Troop and with my family.  One of my Girl Scout projects motivated me to assist the FOHA (Friends Of Homeless Animals) as I work towards my Silver Award. The Silver Award requires a total of 50 hours on a community service project. I will help jpegwith raising donations in my community. I will be approaching businesses so they can allow me to place donation boxes at their businesses.  I will be following up and picking up the donations and dropping them off at the FOHA office. I love animals and I know that my actions will help them.

Since I was little, I’ve always been shy. My parents have encouraged me to do things in our community. This has really helped me out in overcoming some of my shyness. I’ve enjoyed helping out senior citizens, donated items to our military and helped out with our church fundraiser. Through many of my volunteering I’ve gained experience in dealing with people.  It has also made me feel proud and confidant that I have been able to make a difference and brighten up someone’s day.

Your volunteer experience will help you when you are applying for colleges. You can make yourself stand out from other students by having good grades and your volunteer experience. This experience helps you because you are working with teams of people. By volunteering you learn about new things, you gain experience and you achieve amazing results.  Employers want to hire people that are well rounded leaders and team players.

My volunteer experience has already helped me. I applied for Girl Scout Camp CEO Scholarship and I was selected! I couldn’t believe it! Throughout elementary school, I was always unsure, shy and I doubted myself. I had a very low self-esteem of myself. When my mom told me, this was an honor to receive this opportunity I did not girlscoutsdsc0320-cx-600understand. She told me that out of around 7,000 girls in Northern VA, only between 20-30 girls are selected each year! I was also encouraged to be an MC for the Girl Scout Annual Conference. There was between 600-700 people that attended. I was scared to do this but I did it. If I can do this, so can you. Get out of your comfort zone and change your world.

-Sophia M.