Guest Blog: Girl Scouts Learn about Global Education

IMG_3829

“On March 10th I had the wonderful opportunity to meet First Lady Michelle Obama and Mrs. Sophie Grégoire-Trudeau during an event celebrating the White House’s Let Girls Learn initiative. It was a dream come true, hearing both of them passionately speak about the 62 million girls worldwide who are not in school today.

I also got the chance to speak to the audience about my Girl Scout Gold Award project where I implemented a fully equipped science lab at a poverty-stricken school in Sri Lanka. As the daughter of two Sri Lankan immigrants, I was inspired to complete this project so that I could give those students back in Sri Lanka the same opportunities I have to learn. I’m passionate about science, but I was startled to hear that less than 20% of students in Sri Lanka pursue higher education in STEM fields because they don’t have access to the right resources. It made me proud to hear that just months after finishing my project, many young girls at the school told their principal they couldn’t wait to be doctors, and scientists, and astronauts!

As I was walking off the stage after presenting on my project, the First Lady mouthed, “Wow, you’re impressive,” which is the most surreal thing I’ve ever experienced. Throughout my Girl Scout career I’ve gotten to do so many incredible  things, but this definitely makes the top of the list. Being a Girl Scout makes me realize that I have the ability to impact this world.”

~Gold Award Girl Scout Sashini P.

****

“I had a wonderful time at the US Institute of Peace. It was an honor just to be in the same room with the First Ladies Mrs. Michelle Obama and Mrs. Sophie Grègorie-Trudeau. I loved what they had to say about the 62 million girls that are not in school and how the Let Girls Learn program took off. This ties into what I learned at the State Department four years ago with Secretary of State Clinton and Archbishop Desmond Tutu.

Hearing the other Gold Award Girl Scouts share their projects, and listening to the presentations from students from School Without Walls and Girls Inc of DC, I could see how important this issue is to students my age. I had a great time being a part of this event.”

~Gold Award Girl Scout Lalah W.

****

“It was truly an amazing experience to have the honor of meeting the First Lady Michelle Obama and Mrs. Sophie Grègorie-Trudeau and sharing my Gold Award story with them! It was an unforgettable day and I am so glad that I could be a part of the #letgirlslearn initiative and make a change in the world. Talking to both of these amazing women and hearing them applaud my work was definitely amazing and I thank Girl Scouts for the amazing opportunities it has provided me with.”

~Gold Award Girl Scout Amulya K.