Guest Blog: Celebrating Women’s History Month

By DeAndra Stegall, Public Relations Intern at Girl Scouts Nation’s Capital

As we celebrate Women’s History Month, I reflect on the inspiring women who have triumphed and made great contributions to our world, despite adversity. Women and girls today still face many barriers to success, and are often underestimated and told that they “can’t.” That’s why this month is so important as we recognize women who are movers and shakers in our households, the community, and the world.deandra-copy

Growing up, I was often warned of the struggles I would face as a young woman of color, coming from the inner city. But I’ve been fortunate to have a strong foundation rooted in optimism, and Girl Scouts was part of that foundation. My Girl Scout journey began when I became a Brownie in grade school, and the experiences I had in Girl Scouting became the fuel that lit my fire. It’s those simple principles of courage, confidence and exceptional character that have stayed with me as I work to achieve my goals.

From a young age, I knew I wanted to combine my passion for the arts and leadership. Today, I am working towards a degree in Public Relations, which will allow me to have an impact on the arts and culture scene. I’m taking every opportunity I can get to learn, from securing a PR internship at Girl Scouts Nation’s Capital, to working at a musical theater company, to even writing and co-producing my own play! It hasn’t always been easy, but I know I’ll be successful as long as I keep believing in myself.

From one Girl Scout to another, I want to stress the importance of our purpose as girls and women. You can be as graceful and as revolutionary, as comfortable and as kind, as un-kept or as put together as you want to be. No matter your race, religion, socioeconomic background, know that you are not limited. You are important, confident, resourceful, hardworking, and above all things, capable!

DeAndra is currently studying Liberal Studies at the University of the District of Columbia. She plans to transfer to SUNY Purchase in August 2017 to major in Public Relations with a concentration in Arts, Media, and Society.